About the Award

The Award aims to stimulate development at a local level by giving the title to regions that develop an exciting programme of events to stimulate initiatives that cross the boundaries of food, culture, tourism and other sectors and thus support innovation in local settings.  IGCAT developed this idea with its founding regions to ensure that the programme and criteria could respond to challenges being felt in Europe’s regions.

The European Region of Gastronomy title will be awarded to 2 – 3 different regions each year as a stimulus to link food, hospitality, tourism, culture, health and sustainability to support economic, cultural, social and environmental development. A major year-long programme of events related to food and gastronomy will showcase regional culture and innovation.


Regions hoping to bid for the title have to produce a Bid Book. The bid book should be approximately 20 pages in length and outline the stakeholder group, regional challenges to be addressed during the year, an events and projects programme, evaluation plan and budget.

Galway, West of Ireland was formally announced as a Candidate for 2018 as part of Expo-Milan in Italy on 28th September 2015. Representatives from the lead partners on the European Region of Gastronomy project are meeting on a regular basis to develop the programme and Bid Book, which needs to be submitted by the end of January 2016. We will then present our Bid Book to an international jury of experts at the next partner meeting which is taking place in North Brabant, Netherlands in March 2016. The award ceremony will then take place in Aarhus, Denmark in June 2016 where we will hopefully be awarded the title as European Region of Gastronomy 2018. This is a collaborative initiative led by Galway County Council and the role of stakeholders from across the City and County is vital to the achievement of this award and its success for the future.



Award Holders 2016

Catalonia, Spain 2016

You will find the Catalonia European Region of Gastronomy 2016 Bid Book here

Minho, Portugal 2016

You will find the Minho European Region of Gastronomy Bid Book here

Award Holders 2017

Aarhus / Central Denmark Region 2017

You will find the Aarhus / Central Denmark European Region of Gastronomy 2017 Bid Book here

East Lombardy, Italy 2017

You will find the East Lombardy European Region of Gastronomy 2017 Bid Book here

Riga-Gauja, Latvia 2017

You will find the Riga-Gauja European Region of Gastronomy 2017 Bid Book here


North East Brabant, Netherlands

Marseille Provence, France

Sibiu, Romania